Tag Archive | lectures

Calendar – March 2017

March. Registration is now open for the Friends of Fish Creek Provincial Park Society Spring Birding Course. The twelve-week course starts on April 3. See this page to register.

Tuesday March 7, 7 pm. Alberta Wilderness Association. Sean Nichols, Russia’s Boreal Wilderness: 10,000 km by Bicycle. Information and tickets here.

Wednesday March 8, 7:30 pm. Nature Calgary Bird Study Group: Greg Wagner, How To Manage an Important Bird Area – My Experiences at Frank LakeInformation here.

Saturday March 11. Friends of Fish Creek Provincial Park Society: Wayne’s Wonderful Winter Walk. Information and tickets here.

Saturday March 11. Cochrane Ecological Institute. Finding Common Ground: the 2017 Symposium on Wilderness, Wildlife and Human Interaction. Speakers and topics; Registration here.

Tuesday March 21. 7:30 pm. Nature Calgary Speaker Series: Val Scholefield, The Natural Wonders of MadagascarInformation here.

Sunday March 26, 1 pm. Alberta Institute for Wildlife Conservation. Wonderful Waterfowl. A talk, and a tour of the facility. Information and tickets.

Friday March 31, 6 pm. Birds & Beers, a social get-together for birders. Information here.

Calendar – February 2017

Thursday February 2, 7 pm. Alberta Wilderness Association. Mount St. Helens: A Story of Recovery, by Dr. Evelyn Merril. Information and tickets here.

Wednesday February 8, 7:30 pm. Nature Calgary Bird Study Group: The Ins and Outs of eBird, by Mike Harrison. Information here.

Friday February 17, 6 pm. Birds & Beers, a social get-together for birders. Information here.

Friday February 17 to Monday February 20. Annual Great Backyard Bird Count. Count birds to contribute to this database of winter birds. Record your sightings on eBird or get started here.

Tuesday February 21. 7:30 pm. Nature Calgary Speaker Series: From Ice to Salt and Back Again, by Dr. John Harper. Information here.

Thursday February 23, 7 pm. Friends of Fish Creek Speaker Series: Beaches, Birds, and the Boreal Forest: Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park, by Ceiridwen Robbins. Information here.

Tuesday February 28, 7 pm. U of C Events: Kananaskis Conservation Officers, Guardians of Alberta Parks, by Donna Schley. Information here.

Tuesday February 28. Last day of the winter birding season (December through February). For this year’s Alberta Winter Bird List, see this page.

 

Calendar – January 2017

Monday January 9. Beginning of the 12-week Winter session of the Friends of Fish Creek Provincial Park Society birding course. Information and registration on this page.

Wednesday January 11, 7:30 pm. Nature Calgary Bird Study Group Speaker Series: Christmas Bird Count Results. Phil Cram and others will present the results of local Christmas Bird Counts in the Calgary region. Information here.

Tuesday January 17, 7:30 pm. Nature Calgary Speaker Series: The Nature of Our Unseen Universe by Wesley Ernst. Information here.

Friday January 20, 6 pm. Birds & Beers. A social get-together for birders. Information here.

Wednesday January 25, Friends of Fish Creek Annual General Meeting (members only). Registration and information here.

Thursday January 26, 7 pm. Fish Creek Speaker Series: Growing Up In Alberta’s Eastern Parks, by Alison Cole. Information Here.

If you know of any upcoming local talks or events of interest to birders, please email us.